Ceramic blog week 12

Back from spring break and it didn’t feel like a break at aaallll. Chicago was amazing as always an now being back in the studio I’m trying to hit the ground running.

I cleaned up my tiles that I’m going to figure out sizes, designs, ans colors. I left some pinched texture on the surface of the tiles to make them more cohesive with my other work. I like the indentions to add volume and variation to each individual tile.

I also made my first pinched mug. Im not like how clunky the handles are so it’s something I need to practice. I love the size and weight of the mug so overall I’m Ok with it being my trial run.

I tested out my handmade bisque press molds of the forks, knives, and spoons and didn’t like the results. The spoons would work once I worked them for a bit but the forks and knives gave me so much trouble. Here are the survivors….sad face. Hopefully they survive two firings!

Once I gave up on my bisque molds, Lalana was awesome to help me create a plaster press mold for my utensils!

I’m not sure how it will turn out but my mold should be ready by tomorrow, then we shall see how well it works!

I also was able to glaze almost half my bisqued work for the soda fire today but I still have a lot more to make and glaze. I also helped load the kiln and learned a lot about the soda fire process.

Im going to start using a low to mid fire clay body for my talavera tiles and pottery so I can achieve brighter colors. Since I’m running low on time, I’m going to try this week to get some premade red clay and white clay from kentucky mudworks then start cranking out work to paint my designs on for my independent study. I also want to make my geode sculptures this week and make 5 objects to put in the wood kiln.

I’ve been sketching ideas and how many things I want to have done before our last critique so I’m hoping I stay focused to be able to finish my plans!

Here’s more pictures from my adventures in Chicago… because I love Chicago. Enjoy 🙂

I wanted to take him as a pet…

Historic Talavera pottery at the National Museum of Mexican Art! #inspired

This was a mexican wall art piece entirely made of beads…awesome right.

Lions. The End.

Leave a comment