Ceramic Blog post 13

making items for the raku and deciding what glazes I want for them was fun….until I got them out of the raku *extreme sadness face*

When I took thebitems out of the trash can Everything was a shade of burnt house fire observing or an oil spoil. I was so upsseeettt but the mason jar has given me some hope!

Boom. Beautiful baby mason jar with its delicate crackers. All it needed was a bath! I dont like the tecture the straw gave ro the bottom. There are a lot of bubbles from thick glazing on the jar and I’m not sure if I should sand them down or try the refiring in the electric kiln first. But I’m surprised it looks somewhat OK!

I’ve glazed all my raku items besides 5 of the oxket planters. Depending on how the next firing goes, I may just put the planters in cone 10. The Baylor luster is a bit touchy so adding a real thick layer might help or we need a new recipe. Also the black raku turned out charcoal matte so I have to see what those look like washed. 

In some newness news, I got my glazed Christmas pickles out of the kiln 😁 they cute

And my garden series is moving along after its cone 10 firing. I’m going to sand down the surface and then prime it so I can start painting my details. Half of this porojectt is currently in the kiln being fired so I’m going I can finish these up soon!

While I’ve been waiting for other projects to get out of the kilns, I started making tester cups for cone 10. Im working on the pinched texture and size. So far I like a stout and wider cup with pinched texture and bowls without a trimmed bottom. My goal before I graduate is to create a whole kitchen set and some baking pans 🙂 

Leave a comment